Wednesday, February 13, 2013

LITTLE PRINCES Chosen as St. Cloud State University's Common Read

Little Princes By Conor GrennanCongratulations to Conor Grennanthis morning we got word that his book, Little Princes, is St. Cloud State University’s Common Read 2013! Little Princes has been one of our most successful First-Year books (it was recently chosen as Villanova’s One Book), and we’re so happy St. Cloud State has chosen it for their incoming class of freshman.
In case you’re unfamiliar with Conor’s book, here’s short description:
In search of adventure, twenty-nine-year-old Conor Grennan embarked on a yearlong journey around the globe, beginning with a three-month stint volunteering at an orphanage in civil war-torn Nepal. But a shocking truth would forever change his life: these rambunctious, resilient children were not orphans at all but had been taken from their families by child traffickers who falsely promised to keep them safe from war before abandoning them in the teeming chaos of Kathmandu. For Conor, what started as a footloose ramble became a dangerous, dedicated mission to unite youngsters he had grown to love with the parents they had been stolen from—a breathtaking adventure, as Conor risked everything in the treacherous Nepalese mountains to bring the children home.

Praise for Little Princes:

"In the tradition of Three Cups of Tea and Mountains Beyond Mountains, this book provides proof (there cannot be too much) of the value of volunteer work."—
Los Angeles Times
"The beauty of this book is partly the fact that it is a memoir. But it is also more than that. I defy you to not be inspired or moved by this saga.”New York Journal of Books

No comments:

Post a Comment