Tuesday, April 21, 2009

What to recommend for Summer Reading?

Need a good recommendation for high school summer reading? How about I Love You, Miss Huddleston? In the vein of Bill Bryson’s The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid, with a dash of some of the homegrown nostalgia of The Dangerous Book for Boys, humorist Philip Gulley tells of his coming of age in small-town Indiana.

Students will enjoy (and most-likely relate to) the uproarious story of Gulley’s young life, including his infatuation with his comely sixth grade teacher, his dalliance with sin-eating meat on Friday and inappropriate activities with a mannequin named Ginger. From beginning to end, Gulley recalls the hilarity (and heightened dangers) of those wonder years and the easy charm of midwestern life.

And you have to love the cover, right?

No comments:

Post a Comment